Diss the batik

Sometimes I hate Vice, and sometimes i utterly love it. My roomate, Sam, brought home an issue of it today. Today were one of the days when I could do nothing else but love it. It's filled with brilliant, well written articles and funny pictures, and the most ultimate thing ever, the best diss of batik I've ever seen!

The Vice team decided to use the most disgusting ingredients instead of ordinary pigments, these ingredients include, but are not limited to: Dead rat, used tampons, vomit, tapeworms and facial scabbing.

And my favourite, which also seems to have been the Vice team's favourite as well: SHIT!

Yes. Shit, feces, extrement. Shit batik.
The T-shirts in batik made out of shit seemed no different to me than, for example, the ones that Alex Schulman has been wearing lately. The only difference is the fact that these T-shirts dyed in feces could be very handy in a various of different situations.

Situations where batik made out of feces could be handy:

Fending off pushy admirers who just won't let you go even though you've humiliated them, told them you hate them and spread out to everyone that their genitals lack any kind of similarity to the usual genitals of the human race.

When you need that stipendium for mentally deranged people and haven't quite qualified yet.

If you're starved to death from lack of attention. Call Aftonbladet, tell them you only wear excrement batik and you're guaranteed to get a headline. At least at Aftonbladet.se, and at least for a couple of hours. You can bet on the fact that a lot of bloggers will link the article with you in it, bloggers love to indulge in feelings of irritation, they love to nag about how useless and uninteresting things are, and when they find something they find particulary useless: They write about it!

Situations that ordinary market place batik could be handy:

Fending off good looking women and men with taste.

Of course, these things do not apply to the tasteful kind of batik out there, the kind of batik that we can actually see in some of the fall 2007 shows. If you're unsure of what I'm talking about, please read this entry at Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tie-dye
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batik

Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

åh, var finns den svenska versionen? jag är sämst på engelska :(

kan du inte lägga en engelsk översättning i kommentatorspåret istället?

2007-03-15 @ 22:28:58
Postat av: Hanna Fridén

Anonym: Nej, det finns ingen svensk version av det här inlägget, och det kommer heller ingen då Vice Magazine är helt på engelska! Och nej, om jag lägger engelska översättningar i kommentarspåret så kommer ju ingen att se dem, så det är en massa jobb för absolut ingen nytta alls! Synd att det blir svårt för dig, men jag lovar att en majoritet av materialet i bloggen kommer att fortsätta vara på svenska, men jag vill inte bergänsa mig på Sverige när jag var stor internationell bloggare för några år sedan!

Postat av: Anonym

NEJ, inte engelska!! :(

2007-03-15 @ 22:33:09
Postat av: Daniel

Anonym, låt henne föra vad hon vill! det är ju hennes blogg så det är ju inte så himla shysst att kräva sånt där när hon ändå gör dett gratiosjobb!!!

tack hanna för en bra blogg och kul att du vidgar dina vyer!! haha jag suger också på engelska men skitsamma!

2007-03-15 @ 22:43:51
Postat av: E

Jag ser det som ett ypperligt tillfälle att utveckla min svaga engelska :)

2007-03-15 @ 22:56:07
Postat av: lejla

Ja, kul o läsa lite på engelska ibland också hehe

2007-03-15 @ 23:16:00
URL: http://lejlaa.blogg.se
Postat av: LARGE CAT ANIMALS

I believe you are actually refering to tie-dying ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tie-dye ), which is the English word for the Swedish term "batik", clothes dyed with the help of tied strings and commonly used by hippies.
It would be rather difficult, I imagine, to use shit with the waxing process - rather uncommon in the West - outlined in the link ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batik ) you posted.

2007-03-15 @ 23:19:30
URL: http://uppland.blogspot.com
Postat av: Matilda

Haha... jag har en batiktröja som är seriöst snygg! :O

2007-03-15 @ 23:27:27
URL: http://www.pusspjett.com
Postat av: STOCKHOLMS LILLA MONSTERTRUCK aka. HANNA FRIDÉN

LARGE CAT ANIMALS: Actually, I'm refering to both of them! The technique originates in Indonesia, and just like when it comes to "grafiska mönster" it has it's orginal meaning in the procedure you use when printing the patterns. The string technique is what common men and women think of when you mention "batik", but it's far from all of it. If you look at some of the fashion shows for the fall 2007, my dear Kallisti, you'll see some very good examples of this!

However, you have a very good point, and I'll post your link as well. Thank you for the help, oh LARGE CAT ANIMALS! It's always appreciated.

2007-03-15 @ 23:56:47
Postat av: Anonym



"Today were one of the days when I could do nothing else but love it."

he,she,it : WAS!

det är en märklig kompott engelska du levererar. mycket bra bitvis, men ibland genererar den bara stora frågetecken...
hur är står det till med fröken tempus?

2007-03-16 @ 02:32:14
Postat av: Lina

Anonym ovanför mig: Av HELA texten tar du fram EN felaktig rad och ifrågasätter därefter hennes engelskakompetens. Grattis!

2007-03-16 @ 07:44:08
Postat av: Sofie

tröttsamt att folk ska märka ord. visst, d är lätt hänt men ah.. Jag gillar att du skriver på engelska. Ibland passar ju ens uttryckssätt bättre på engelska, orden blir slagkraftigare och språket mer målande. Men jag kom på en sak. Ditt uttryck skiljer sig inte mkt vare sig du skriver på eng el. sv. Du fixar en personlig svenska galant! och engelskan blir mer som en kul variation.. Eh, förstår du ung. vad jag menar? :)

2007-03-16 @ 09:34:18
Postat av: Hanna Fridén

Anonym: Tack! Min engelska är lite rostig, måste medges. En gång i tiden var min stavning och engelskagrammatik långt mycket bättre än min svenska (som inte heller är helt slående underbar) men jag hoppas komma in i en bra rytm efter lite praktis. Om du ser lite fel, säg gärna till och föreslå något annat. Jag vill bli klockren igen :D

Lina: Tack Lina! Men det är helt okej faktiskt, det är bara bra om folk berättar var det kan förbättras, och han/hon säger ju att det är bra bitvis, så det känns inte heller som det är sagt av elakhet.

Sofie: Tack så mycket! Jag förstår vad du menar. Det roliga med engelskan är att jag verkligen varit bättre på att skriva på engelska än svenska, men nu är jag lite rostig, men man kan nog påstå att mitt svenska sätt att uttrycka sig härstammar från det jag tidigare skrivit på engelska :D

2007-03-16 @ 11:28:29
Postat av: Anonym

Hur kom det sig att du blev så bra på engelska?

2007-03-16 @ 16:00:50
Postat av: Hanna Fridén

Anonym: Jag började läsa och skriva på engelska på regelbunden basis innan jag gjorde det på svenska. Fram tills åldern 12 hade jag en mycket populär novellsida på internet, och mellan åldern 15-18 hade jag en populär internationell blogg som jag sedan la ner pga. att jag tröttnade på uppmärksamheten. Förutom det så tittade jag gärna på engelska barnprogram i dagisåldern, så grunden byggdes där. Men nu är jag dessvärre lite rostig då jag inte skrivit ett ord engelska sedan 18, i princip! OCH TACK! :D

2007-03-16 @ 16:55:30
URL: http://frankincense.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback